Middle School (Years 7 – 9)

Middle School Curriculum

Our aim is that learning will be significant, challenging, networked and future focussed, with students engaged and growing every day. All Year 7 – 10 students are part of the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme, adapted by St Andrew’s to incorporate the content of the NSW syllabus laid down by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA).

International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme

In 2016, St Andrew’s introduced the IB MYP, an internationally accredited framework for learning specifically designed for students aged 11 to 16 that caters for their particular learning needs and styles during this stage of life. The MYP is inclusive in nature, providing for all students, including gifted and talented and those needing support.

As the culmination of the students’ final year of the MYP, Year 10 students undertake an independent ‘Personal Project’, which is a significant piece of work that reflects the student’s own initiative and creativity. The project requires research and the creation of a product with supporting documentation. Examples of this have been the creation of a garden, a website regarding ways to save power or the writing of a novel. This rewarding project gives students an opportunity to research an area of passion that may not have been covered in their school subjects.

For more insights about the benefits of the Middle Years Programme, read this Sydney Morning Herald article, quoting our Director of Learning (Middle School) – Kate Layhe.

The MYP curriculum structure replicates very closely the eight Key Learning Areas of NSW curriculum courses:

  • Language and Literature (English)
  • Language Acquisition (French, Mandarin or Spanish)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Individuals and Societies (History, Geography)
  • Design
  • Arts (Drama, Music, Visual Arts)
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

In Years 7 and 8, students study all the Key Learning Areas and Christian Development and then in Years 9 and 10, they will continue to study English, Maths, Science, History, Geography, Christian Development, PDHPE and their second language. They will also have a choice of two elective subjects.

Elective subjects are studied from Year 9.

Extra learning resources

There are a number of additional services for students with particular learning needs. They include:

  • The Enrichment and Learning Department for support and extension activities
  • Gifted and Talented education programs
  • Middle School Study Centre – an after-school two-hour supervised study period, where students can access help to complete their classwork and homework and learn the organisational skills needed to maximise their academic potential. (There is an additional cost per term to attend this weekly program.)
  • SACSachieve homework support – a free drop-in session for students who need tips or have questions about their homework. It operates for an hour after school on Tuesdays and Thursdays during term time.
  • Special interest clubs and programs.