Senior College (Years 10 – 12)

Senior College Curriculum

Year 10

The curriculum at St Andrew’s is organised according to the guidelines laid down by the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA). The International Baccalaureate MYP framework sits over these guidelines and is also shaped by our SACS Learning Model.

The MYP curriculum structure replicates very closely the eight Key Learning Areas of NSW curriculum courses:

  • Language and Literature (English)
  • Language Acquisition (French, Mandarin or Spanish)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Individuals and Societies (History, Geography)
  • Design
  • Arts (Drama, Music, Visual Arts)
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

To further the development of the whole person, St Andrew’s Cathedral School also runs an Outdoor Education program that includes a specific program for students in Year 10.

Years 11 – 12

Students in Years 11 and 12 can choose to study either the Higher School Certificate (HSC) curriculum or the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme.

While both credentials are world class, they are quite different. Students need to think through the requirements and expectations of both programs of study to determine which program most suits them. SACS students have excelled in both programs of study in recent years.

Making the choice – HSC or IB Diploma

SACS offers an extensive and diverse range of subjects within the NSW HSC course with only English being compulsory. English, Mathematics, History, Music, Science and Languages are also offered at Extension level. The HSC can also include Vocational Education courses which are generally offered off site (eg at TAFE). Whilst there is an encouragement for students to think broadly in the HSC there is also the opportunity to specialise in areas such as English, Mathematics, Science amongst others. The HSC is fully integrated with the Australian Curriculum.

Half of the final HSC result is based on end-of-course examinations in Year 12. The other half is based on continuous assessment in Year 12 through the formal Assessment Task program of each course.

Taught in 150 countries worldwide, the IB Diploma is the only truly international curriculum in the world, and is growing at around 20-25 per cent per year both in Australia and worldwide. As an international course of study, the IB curriculum is the same everywhere in the world. It has three official languages in which instruction and examinations can be conducted: English, French and Spanish.

The IB Diploma offers a rich, robust curriculum, which is considered to be an excellent preparation, both in content and learning style, for tertiary study. Students are required to study a broad range of subjects, including a foreign language. All IB Diploma subjects can be pursued at Higher Level. The dominant mode of assessment in the IB is examination at the end of the two-year course.

> For more information on the NSW Higher School Certificate offered at SACS, click here.

> For more information on the IB Diploma Programme offered at SACS, click here.